if i have snapshot1,snaptshot2,snapshot3 and snap2 is deleted. The ask is to recreate volume point in time till snap3. Will the volume created have the data which was present on snapshot 2 or that is lost?
Deleting previous snapshots of a volume does not affect your ability to restore volumes from later snapshots of that volume. https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/ebs-deleting-snapshot.html
This was one of the question asked in CSAA exam I recently gave. Thanks for sharing this answer.
no data will not be lost.. you will be restore from snapshot 3 everything as that will be your current.