Certified Security - Specialty

Sign Up Free or Log In to participate!

Certificates and regions for ELB and Cloudfront

I’m getting a little confused on this point. To use an ACM certificate with CloudFront, you have to generate it in US-East-1?  Say you also have a load balancer, but it’s not in US east-1.  That certificate is regional. So you need a total of 2 certificates, am I right?

1 Answers


That is correct. ACM is a regional service, so you need 1 cert per region. You can use the same domain name on certs in different regions, however.

Cloudfront’s comand and control infrastructure is in US-EAST-1, so if you are using CF at all, you will need a cert generated in US-EAST-1, even if that’s not where the rest of your infrastructure is.

Sujith Babu

Yes, you get official documentation of what you just mentioned at https://docs.aws.amazon.com/acm/latest/userguide/acm-regions.html

Sign In
Welcome Back!

Psst…this one if you’ve been moved to ACG!

Get Started
Who’s going to be learning?